The Locking Life of Lil b

Locking lifestyle

Time to bring this beat back

It feeeeeels sooo good to be able to blog again. I forgot that this thing existed!

A lot of stuff has gone down since i’ve last posted. I’d update a lot about the jams I had entered but I’m thinking of just getting to some of those individually sometime if I feel like reflecting and making sure I’m learning from my experiences. But for now I just want to go over what’s been going on with me recently. (For the Call of Duty fans: you’ll be able to understand this the best right away =p.)

Theme of 2010: I prestiged my locking.

In Call of Duty World at War, Prestige Mode is a special mode unlocked after reaching level 65. In Prestige Mode, your file is reset to level 1 along with all unlocked weapons and perks. You can play again to reacquire everything and unlock more slots for custom classes.

I want to go back to the beginning and just start from the ground up. I want to learn and share with others just like how I did when I first was getting started.  When I was just so hungry! Not hungry to win or only to get better. When I was hungry to make those connections with other awesome dancers.

Last year I felt that my I had ego issues that affected the way I trained and the way I danced. I hated it. Absolutely hated my bullshit, excuses, and mindset. I’m not above anything in this community and I don’t believe that many should think they are. We’re all in this together (to quote High School Musical.) It’s all one big learning experience that’s to be cherished and preserved. All that hate and ego can destroy that preservation!

I thought a lot in 2009 about how I wanted to not be in the bay area for a while. I wanted to dance in another community and see how that would be like. But not just like go in for a visit. I wanted to be a real part of a new community. But what in the hell was I thinking?! I love the bay! And I want to be here and do what I can do in the place I currently reside and love. Of course someday I’d like to travel and live elsewhere to dance and mingle. But like I said,  i’m going right back to the beginning of my locking. and back then … the bay was this huge place with so many talented people I hadn’t even heard of before. Now i’m out to session with em all!

I’m still a part of Academy of Villains and DS Players though to be honest I haven’t been doing much with them recently. I love my 2 crews so much and appreciate and respect everything that they’re doing. But I feel that just for right now, I still got some things I need to work out on my own. I still try to hit up the sessions and practices but I don’t want to get in the way of the choreo stuff that they’ve both been putting together recently. But man are there some choreo pieces from AoV that I really want to get down. Hai said he’d hook me up with some lessons haha.

The Go-Go brothers are coming for an All The Way Live event in Sept. I’m pretty excited! Not fanboy-ish in a way but.. Well I think Ippo said it best. Long long way before when I dreamed that I actually had a super totally legit locking partner and I was goin up against the Go-Go’s and/or Hilty & Bosch, I dreamed they had these smiles on their faces. Some people would assume that they’re looking down on us in a way. Or smiling like “pshhh I got this..” But naw, that’s not how I see it at all especially when going up against them. I see that smile like “I love locking”. And that’s what i’m looking forward to! Locking with other locker’s who love locking just like I do. At this point there’s no better feeling to look forward to.

Winning is not a focus this year. Not at all. It’s about improvement, self-control, and making my teachers proud of me. Not with winning jams, but with real results.

Heh well, it’s good to be back on this and have some of my thoughts out there. I’ve got a lot more I need to say tho 😉

March 3, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment